Advisory Committees

The Foundation relies heavily on its volunteer advisory committee structure to make good decisions on the projects that should be funded. Our advisory committee model is unique in the world of salmon conservation. It’s a strategic direction that promotes inclusiveness of the many interests in wild salmon conservation as well as partnership among them. Most importantly, our advisory committees ensure the Foundation receives excellent advice in recommending conservation projects that respond to the unique salmon conservation imperatives faced in each of the five provinces.

There are six advisory committees consisting of a Scientific Advisory Committee and five Provincial Advisory Committees. Each appointee to these committees is an expert volunteer identified in consultation with stakeholder groups and governments. Our advisory committees have proven to be a very successful way of including people in our decision-making processes and ensuring full transparency in the granting process.

New Brunswick

Todd Kennedy
John Pugh
Sara Richard
Charles Sacobie
Kathryn Collet (Chair)
Dave Dunn
Michelle Gray
Jim Marriner (Vice-chair)

Nova Scotia

David MacNeil (Vice-Chair)
Michael Pollard (Chair)
Pat Wall
Jennifer MacDonald
Darryl Murrant

Absent: Shane O'Neil

Newfoundland & Labrador

Carl McLean
Jim McCarthy
Chris Wessel
Rick Maddigan
Brian Dempson (Vice-chair)
Martha Robertson
Fred Parsons (Chair)
Greg Jeddore

Prince Edward Island

Brad Ledgerwood
Todd Dupuis (Vice-Chair)
Al Ledgerwood
Rosie MacFarlane

Absent: Mary Finch (Chair), Shawn MacDougall, Ottis McInnis, Rob Burnett, Randy Angus


Frédéric Lévesque
Sébastien Ross (Vice-chair)
Sylvie Tremblay
Jean-Pierre le Bel
Richard Firth

Absent : Véronique Gilain, Jean Malec, Thomas Buffin-Bélanger


Francois Caron
Dr. Rick Cunjak
Dr. Jeff Hutchings
Carol-Anne Gillis
Peter Cronin

Absent: Dave Reddin (Chair), Yvon Coté, John Bagnall, Brian Dempson